Elk Island Park

Went on a Park Bus trip a couple of weeks ago and observed Bison in the Bison loop, in fact a small herd of them passed right in front of us. That is why I did not get the full animal in some images; we were too close!

It was a sunny day and typical for this time of year, 5 degrees in the morning climbing slowly to 26 celsius, staying there for about an hour, then cooling off again. Definitely a time of year to dress in layers. As one friend said to me, you experience four seasons all in one day! I am lucky I have the gear to adjust to the weather. The grasses are changing colour, as well as the leaves. Usually the cows and calves stay alone but I did see a bull amongst them, wallowing in the dirt, and tossing his head so he must have been in rut.

Here are some shots in the bison loop, a loop off the main road where you can often see some of the bison in the park. These are Prairie Bison.

Bull in foreground, cow behind
Bull and cow, you can see the difference in size of head and horns.
Here is a cow who is nursing, but calf has wandered ahead. Autumn light and colours.
Those calves have really grown over the summer. Part of the herd stayed in the field to graze.

I hope to go out again this weekend and perhaps get some more images.

10 thoughts on “Elk Island Park

  1. Wonderful closeups. I love watching Bison. (From a proper distance.) I laugh every time another tourist tries to get a Bison-selfie and instead gets a horn up the ass in Yellowstone! I think all wildlife are fun to watch. They all have such amazing specialties.

    And yes, all of a sudden our temperatures settle down. Overnight we went from triple digit (F) to 80s and oh how good the 80s feel! I’m about ready to start digging out my sweaters.

    Like

  2. I love these big guys! Just from a distance. Lately there have been certain incidents when people gets too close to the animal and they get agitated and attack. Thanks, Jane. Great pity\ures. šŸ™‚

    Like

    1. The bulls are very dangerous right now, as they are still in rut. Always stay in the bus, or your car, ready to take off because they will charge. A couple of years ago an ornery bull chased the bus down the road. I have seen whole families get out and stand five feet in front of a bison to get a group photo. (I yelled at them to get back into the car). Bison are so big that I guess they look like they will be slow and lumbering, but they go very fast, very quickly. I realized that once when I saw them go through a gate into a larger field and they broke into a gallop! Although we are not as crowded here as Yellowstone, cars have lost their bumpers and people have been tossed and gored. I almost always have my lens at 300 mm, especially to get a close-up of an eye or face. I love it but stay conscious of the danger.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment