Scaups, Mallards and Wigeons

It is early evening so the focus is not always sharp but the lighting gives a new ambience to the birds. I am not getting out as much as I would like because I broke my toe. I can walk, but in a very SLOW way. I am hoping the healing will be done as predicted in about two more weeks.

It would be nice to find a place to perch and let the birds come to me. In this case, I went with a friend to a local pond and felt such delight watching these ducks and ducklings.

Male Lesser Scaup captured in the setting sununtitled-0282-2

Male and Female Lesser Scaup,  she wouldn’t turn around, busy eating.untitled-0380-2

Male Lesser Scaup being quite vocaluntitled-0397-2

Female American Wigeonuntitled-0437-2

Male American Wigeonuntitled-0438-2

I have seen this group a couple of times and hope that they are not orphans because I have never seen the parents. They are Common Goldeneye ducklings.untitled-0215-2

It is fun to listen to mother “talking” to her brood with soft tones.untitled-0270-2

Leave a Reply

