I went to a small pond in the heart of a community north of Edmonton, hoping to see a Ruddy Duck or Hooded Merganzer but had no luck on both accountsAfter I visited Big Lake in St Albert I thought I would try the pond again, just in case.

IMG_0291-2

As luck would have it, the Male Ruddy had just come out of the reeds so I went around to where he was and at first couldn’t see but where there was an opening in the reeds was exactly where he appeared. He even faced off with me, no shyness here! Here he is sputtering and churning up bubbles with stiffened tail and raised crest. Fantastic!

IMG_0283

He saw I was no threat and swam away, but not before I got some images. Definitely worth returning to the pond!

IMG_0277-2

4 thoughts on “Male Ruddy-Tough Little Guy

Leave a Reply

