There is a storm run-off pond in north Edmonton that I like to go to and it is accessible by public transit so off I went after re-arranging my camera bag to pack in snacks and a water bottle. I loved being here and while not all the birds are back , I did see some Red-necked Grebes and Mallards and House Sparrows and was very happy that I had the energy to walk all around the pond.

Hope you enjoy my captures, they were taken on various sides of the pond in the afternoon, you can really see the difference in light.

This male Mallard Duck was warning someone to not come any closer.IMG_0013-2

Red-necked Grebes are nesting here probaly a dozen nests around the pond.

IMG_0045-2

Even the House Sparrows take on a certain beauty.IMG_0070-2

Got a nice close-up of this male Mallard at the height of “handsome.”IMG_0049-2

A pair of Mallards resting in the sun. They are enjoying it as much as I.IMG_0021-2

The Common Crackle is anything but “common” during breeding season.IMG_0062-2

IMG_0065-2

IMG_0066-2

There are a few pairs of Canada Geese here.IMG_0095-2

Here I observed them displaying, taking turns splashing water over their backs and alternate;y dunking their heads.IMG_0124-2

And I got the whole sequence but took two other photos  and when I turned back , the male was climbing aboard.IMG_0137-2

The Grebes chased this male Blackbird out of the reeds then he posed on the rocks for me.Great eye contact!IMG_0219-2

He was eating seeds left by someone else.IMG_0220-2

IMG_0172-3

Red-Necked GrebeIMG_0254-2

This one is calling his mate his crest is slightly risen.IMG_0300-3

More to come , as this is a great place to observe , picnic and just relax while taking photos.I look forward to the return of the Cormorants, Great Blue Heron and American white Pelicans..

7 thoughts on “First visit to Pond in North Edmonton

Leave a Reply

