Didn’t find the Hooded Merganzer that I had heard was around but very pleased that I spotted  my first male Ruddy Duck and he was diving away at the edge of this pond, then disappeared as suddenly as he first showed up. I would not be surprised if he had a mate in the reeds. I saw a couple of pair here last year.

No, I am not going to clone out the weeds that are draped over him in the first shot.Colour is off because I forgot to change my WB settings from the indoor ceremony. Tried to adjust to the best of my ability.I took these photos on a neighbourhood pond in St Albert, Alberta north of Edmonton.

IMG_0062-3

IMG_0063-2

IMG_0064-2

IMG_0068-2

IMG_0072-3

IMG_0079-2

2 thoughts on “First Ruddy Duck of the Season

Leave a Reply

