Happy Thanksgiving

While there is much that leaves something to be desired in this world, there is much to be grateful for. Our church hosts a community dinner every month and last night we had a Thanksgiving dinner with a large turnout of  200 people. Everyone went left happy and well-fed. There was an invitation for those who were interested to visit the art studio where adults and children came to do a craft.A few always come and they enjoy it. This is one of the ways we reach out into the community. The people that come to the dinners or the art classes do not have to be members of the church, but some end up coming to the services as the result of the openess and welcome.

I am grateful that we have a place for people to come and that we can practise our faith and be of service to one another  as well as to the community around us.I also like that I attend and call this church my home.

I also am grateful for friends and family. I don’t know what I would do without my friends.We are all quite independent but make an effort to keep in touch and I know they have been there for me when times got rough.

My niece and her partner are expecting their first baby sometime in the next couple of weeks and we are all excited. It is the first time that I will be a great aunt. They live a distance away but we keep in touch through computers and phone, something else that I am grateful for when all is working well.

It is a little early, but not too surprising; we got our first snowfall this weekend. The Farmers Almanac has predicted a cold winter though not too much snow. Is it the Boy Scouts motto that says, “Be prepared”? Good advice. It was just a few days ago that I went digging into the storage and pulled out the gloves and hats.Luckily the temperature did not plunge into the minus teens. It is just around freezing.

I am grateful for a lot of things and try to focus on what I have rather than what I don’t have. Speaking of focus, I am grateful for my camera, which I used today to record the first snowfall. It was wet snow, which clung to the branches and made for a pretty scene, especially with the fall colours peaking through the white. I am not sure if it will stay or go but I do know anything can happen in Alberta.

Happy Thanksgiving  everyone. I hope you can be with family or friends, feel grateful and spread some cheer.A few photos from today follow:

picture-011-2

  picture-014-2

picture-017-2

picture-020-2

8 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. I am appreciating your words on thanksgiving. It’s great to be reminded we can find joy in the simple things in life, like nature, by focusing on them and having gratitude.

    Like

Leave a Reply

