No Pileated Woodpecker seen for two years. When I became conscious of that fact I was wishing that I would see them, and lo and behold, I saw two, both together, a few weeks ago.

Today is typical winter weather, meaning the temperatures have dropped to minus 20’s. My skeptical friends at lunch said there would be no birds out and I replied that I thought there was a good chance to see them since they needed to eat all the time to keep their body heat up.My friend Diane and I made a trip to the park on the south side of the river and stopped at two places where they usually feed. We  saw the Chickadees, a pair of Red-breasted Nuthatches and then a pair of Pileated Woodpeckers. Funny how when I saw the latter, (good seeing, Diane!) I completely disregarded the biting wind, at least temporarily while I happily pursued the birds with my camera.

I got my wish and I am a happy birder today.

Picture 054-2

Male and Female Pileated Woodpeckers

Picture 011-2

Male Downy Woodpecker

Picture 041-2

Black-capped Chickadee

Picture 015-2

Red-Breasted Nuthatch

Picture 057-2

Female Pileated Woodpecker

4 thoughts on “A Wish Granted

  1. Oh what a treat for you! Much better than staying inside at work eating a ham & swiss on rye! 🙂

    And your photos are the best I’ve seen yet…I’m especially partial to the red-breasted nuthatch one because she is perched at such a precarious angle on the tree trunk.

    Like

  2. Hey I’m from the grey Uk & bowled over by amazing Alberta…a couple of clear cold winter weeks there and words just can’t begin to describe the intensity of colours, the extremities of cold ( no, we don’t get our eyelashes frozen together round here!!) and the amazing wildlife…even more to see your bird pics – I have a woodpecker and a nuthatch, but so different from yours. Fab photos – still struggling with the ‘white balance ‘ myself !!

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comments. Thank goodness it wasn’t eyelash-freezing cold that day, but we didn’t stay out long. I am noticing with the unusually warm weather (it has been above zero celsius a couple of times) more cloudy days, but they are getting noticeably
      longer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

